TranslatorPub

TranslatorPub.com Forum

Back To TranslatorPub.Com

Forum Home | Forum Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
 All Forums
 Welcome to TranslatorPub.Com!
 CAT Tool Help
 TRADOS certification

Note: You must be registered in order to post a reply.
To register, click here.Registration is FREE!

Screensize:
UserName:
Password:
* HTML is OFF
* Forum Code is OFF
Smilies
Smile [:)] Big Smile [:D] Cool [8D] Blush [:I]
Tongue [:P] Evil [):] Wink [;)] Clown [:o)]
Black Eye [B)] Eight Ball [8] Frown [:(] Shy [8)]
Shocked [:0] Angry [:(!] Dead [xx(] Sleepy [|)]
Kisses [:X] Approve [^] Disapprove [V] Question [?]

T O P I C    R E V I E W
JamesGibbs Posted - 07/07/2008 : 12:28:12
Hi everyone,

I'm rather new to the freelancing scene, and it's become apparent to me that knowledge of TRADOS is rather important, since a lot of companies seem to require it. I'd never heard of the software before once throughout all of college - my problem at the moment is the cost, at around 800 euros (which would make it even more expensive than my computer) for the package 'deal'.

My question for everyone here is whether or not the TRADOS 'certification' is worth it ... it seems to be a great way to make an expensive product even more expensive, and I'm certainly not made of money (being a recentl college graduate), but I can't tell if it's arbitrary or not. Do clients/employers care about Level 1/2/3 certification? I've seen a lot of mentioning about TRADOS being required or preferred, but not much mention of this certification. If anyone could shed any light on this subject, I'd be very grateful, because right now I'm very confused.

6   L A T E S T    R E P L I E S    (Newest First)
Stanislav_Pokorny Posted - 03/03/2009 : 19:22:01
To make a few things clear here: